Fully funded Commonwealth scholarships for students from developing countries in 2023.

Looking for fully funded scholarships in 2023? Applications are currently being accepted for the fully funded 2023 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for students from developing countries.

Students from developing countries are welcome to take this opportunity and make the most of it. I mean why wait when it is a is fully funded scholarship.

Just take your time and go through this article; World Scholarship Forum has compiled all the details you need to participate in the scholarships.

Commonwealth Joint Scholarships

The Department for International Development (DfID) offers more than 200 scholarships in opportunities for students from developing Commonwealth countries. This post provides detailed information on how to apply for the scholarship. Read the following information carefully.

About the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme.

The CSS is a scholarship scheme that can benefit students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK Diploma studies at a university in the UK. This will help them contribute to the development of their home countries.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from DFID) and UK universities to support scholarships for students from Commonwealth developing countries.

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is one of the world's largest and most prestigious scholarship programs for international study.

Since its inception in 1959, some 30,000 individuals have benefited - 25,000 of whom have received scholarships funded by the UK government and administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC). The scholarships are offered annually for a master's degree only.

What you need to know about Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2023.

The scholarships are for candidates from least developed Commonwealth countries and middle-income Commonwealth countries for full-time Master's study in selected courses jointly supported by UK universities.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Joint Commonwealth Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills needed for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

Level / Field of Study:

These awards are for master's programs only. No awards will be made for undergraduate, graduate, or other pre-session studies English Language Teaching. All courses taken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate's home country.

The scholarship is eligible for courses that must fall under the following topics:
  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity
Host Nationality:

The scholarship is awarded in the United Kingdom, United Kingdom. If you are an international student and would like to study in the UK, the Complete Guide to Obtaining a UK 4-Student Visa for International Students is for you.

Eligible Nationality:

If you are required to apply for this scholarship, you must be a citizen of one of the Commonwealth developing countries listed below:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati

Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa

Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu


Scholarship Worth:

Shared scholarships are jointly funded by the CSC and attend UK universities. Each scholarship offers:
  • The CSC funds the cost of tuition (at the overseas rate), return airfare, and other allowances. Participating universities must support the student scholarship for the awardee (at the rate set by the UK government).
  • Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and returned at the end of your award (arranged by the university; funded by the CSC).
  • Approved tuition and exam fees (funded by the CSC).
  • Bursary (housing allowance) of £1,043 per month or £1,279 per month for students at universities in Greater London (2017-2018 level prices) (paid and funded by the University)
  • Warm clothing allowance (paid and funded by the University).
  • Study travel stipend toward the cost of study-related travel within the UK or abroad (applied for and paid by the university; funded by the CSC)
  • Excess baggage on return home (up to a maximum amount approved annually) (requested by and paid for by the University; funded by the CSC)
Who is eligible to apply for Commonwealth Scholarship 2023?:

To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, applicants must:
  • Be a citizen of the Commonwealth, a refugee, or a protected British person
  • Be permanently residing in a Commonwealth developing country
  • Be available to begin your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October.
  • Hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2: 1) or lower second class (2: 2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Masters degree) by September.
  • Not have studied or worked in a developed country for at least one (academic) year.
  • Be unable to pay for study in the UK either by yourself or through your family
Sponsor institutions must confirm that applicants are fluent enough in writing and speaking to immediately pursue the proposed course of study, as no pre-course English instruction is provided under these awards.

Application for the 2023 Commonwealth Scholarship | Application Method.

  • You should apply to study an eligible Master's degree program at a UK university participating in the Commonwealth Scholarships program. These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, Ph.D. study, or pre-sessional English classes, and are usually only tenable for one year, although they are fully funded scholarships.
  • And you must submit your scholarship application through CSC's Electronic Application System (EAS).
  • Before you apply, you must check with your UK university for their advice, rules and application deadline.
  • You may apply for more than one program and to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer for a joint scholarship.
  • The CSC will not accept applications that have not been submitted through the EAS to your UK university or directly from individuals.
Frequently Asked Questions

What is the nationality requirement for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships?

Among other criteria, you must be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee or British protected person and a permanent resident of a developing Commonwealth country.

What does Commonwealth Shared scholarships cover?

The Commonwealth Scholarship covers tuition, approved rates and personal maintenance.

Who is eligible to receive Commonwealth shared scholarships?

To qualify, you must be a citizen of one of the following countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Who applies for Commonwealth shared scholarships?

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered annually for Master's degree only.

What is the deadline for commonwealth shared scholarships?

All applications must be submitted by 16:00 GMT on 18 December 2023.